Flight crew please report to your stations.

by rachel

I heard your voice calling out to me,
last night,
over the static waves
frozen 20,000 feet above the ground,
too far to feel,
too close to forget.

They say
“with distance everything looks different”
And it does.

From where I stand now,
the sea is just the sea –
Blue, salty, a cradle of every promise you had made to me.

Some days I stand,
My feet straining,
growing roots through the ground,
Hoping, praying that the salt, the cold
won’t take me.

Daring it to, allowing the salty
tears of the earth to wash away the pillars of sand that
rise around me. But refusing to let go
of the broken earth that curls around my feet,
Whispering, “hold on to me”.

But that night, 20,000 feet above the ground,
I heard your voice calling out to me.

And I saw the ocean, as it fell,
Wrapped infinitely around the earth’s crust,
burying her rough edges beneath kilometers of itself
Every ripple and wave a faint line in the earth’s aquamarine shield,
Running through the palm lines
and heart lines of the earth’s weathered skin.

And I saw, the hands that held typhoons and tsunamis in their grasp,
Cradled many a broken body past its last breath
But I also saw a womb that has birthed millions
and continues to breathe life into many.
That cries, each day,
For the life it gives and takes away.

In its salty body, I saw my reflection
And suddenly, 20 000 feet above the ground
The puddles I’d created with my
rivers, my seas, no longer seemed so great to me.

I heard your voice calling out to me,
last night,
over the static waves
frozen 20,000 feet above the ground,
too far to feel,
too close to forget.

