take heart

by rachel

disclaimer: not a CAS reflection

So I’ve decided to include a bunch of posts here and there that aren’t CAS reflections but just as a way to document my IB journey in general!

Over the past few days I’ve been growing increasingly motivated, especially when I’m in school. I’m not really sure why but I’m thankful for it. Yes, Year 5 is tough and despite this new wave of motivation, I admit I do still feel tired – I am only human. But I can honestly say I’m really enjoying this year.

As I write this post I’m just about to start on my anthro revision for CTs which are in… 2 days and I would be lying if I were to say I weren’t the least bit worried for them, because I am. But more than anything else I’m just really thankful to be where I am now. About 5 years ago, I made the decision to come to sota and it was an unexpected one for a lot of people around me but it’s a decision I’m glad and proud to have made anyway. I was talking to my mom the other day and she told me that I’d actually wanted to go since P5… I don’t even remember that!

I have zero recollection as to why I chose to come here but I have no regrets. At the end of last year I was actually feeling a bit apprehensive about school. Seeing all my friends from other schools starting afresh in new institutions just kind of made me want to do that too. Ultimately, I decided there really was no point changing and I’m glad I made that decision because I think I would have regretted choosing otherwise.

School hours are long but they’re really enjoyable. I’m so blessed to be surrounded by such lovely people, friends who will prepare exam survival kits for you and friends who will drop you a text to encourage you to press on. Psst lysha your exam survival kit really helped when I really wanted to give up on my physics IA. 

Most of all, we’re all so blessed to be learning. Despite how tough it might be at times, it really is a luxury to be able to go to school, to be able to devote time purely to things like reading and learning about the world. And sometimes I think we forget about that. Ultimately, while we do have tests, grades, exams and all, it is important to go back and remember that what is important is that we’re learning and growing through that.

I sometimes struggle with the expectations others have of me and whenever that happens I just remind myself to keep loving what it is I’m doing. Whether for LeAd, school work, writing, everything. It’s the only way to get through the immense amount of work there is waiting for us – to love doing it and love learning through it.

Two more weeks till the end of the CTs, all the best everyone ~

x

 

